You are here: PANDA Wiki>DCS Web>WebHome (revision 42)EditAttach

Detector Control System

This is the wiki page of the DCS Subgroup. This subgroup has been established during the September 2007 PANDA collaboration meeting at GSI. The aim is to decide (and have some preliminary trials of) the framework for the PANDA DCS by the end of 2008. The architecture of the PANDA DCS and the individual components will be then ready for implementation and deployment, respectively, by the end of 2009. Actual testing, benchmarking, component development and streamlining will happen along with the completion of the detector until commissioning date.

DCS interrelations graph (small)

[ Quick Shortcuts: SupportedHardware | Requirements Database | IdeaBank ]

Members of the DCS group should register to this wiki and be added to the PandaControlsGroup

Organization

The DCS subgroup has been established on September 17, 2007. The present structure is listed below.

Subgroup chairperson(s)

The subgroup co-chairmen at this time are DanProtopopescu and LarsSchmitt.

Subgroup members

The list below includes the institutes and/or persons that expressed interest in joining the DCS group. It is expected that at the December meeting more specific commitments will be made (designated manpower, responsibility for work packages etc.).

GSI Holger Brand (h.brand@gsi.de), Peter Zumbruch (p.zumbruch@gsi.de), Uwe Thiemer (u.thiemer@gsi.de), Lars Schmitt (l.schmitt@gsi.de)
Glasgow Dan Protopopescu (d.protopopescu@physics.gla.ac.uk)
Juelich Harald Kleines (h.kleines@fz-juelich.de)
Bucharest Mario Bragadireanu (mario@ifin.nipne.ro)
Frascati Elisabetta Pace (elisabetta.pace@lnf.infn.it)
Warsaw Zbigniew Guzik (zbig@ipj.gov.pl), Arkadiusz Chlopik, Jaroslaw Szewinski, Bogdan Zwieglinski

Strategy Document

A strategy document is currently in preparation. More information can be found in this wiki.

Communication

There are a forum and a mailing list hosted on the GSI servers.

Forum

The subgroup forum is located on the GSI server. pencil.gif It is recommended that members of the DCS subgroup do subscribe to this forum.

Mailing list

Our mailing list is called panda-dcs@gsi.de. hand.gif GSI Listserv

Meetings

Subgroup meetings will be announced on the PANDA DCS meetings page.

hand.gif NEXT Meeting

Teleconferencing

Holger Brand created a virtual room FAIR Controls (Adobe Connect) dedicated to controls discussions for FAIR experiments. To arrange a meeting, please contact Holger and provide the date, time and subject.

DCS framework structure

It is very likely that the PANDA DCS will be a combination of various specialized systems integrated via a high-level framework. MonALISA or AFECS would be the umbrella system that would aggregate the data streams from slow controls, DAQ and online analysis.

DCS components (small)

GSI/FAIR Controls

The GSI/FAIR Controls group is expected to provide:
  • Framework design
  • Templates and libraries
  • Database design and service
  • Consulting

GSI/FAIR Controls liaison

The liaison persons to GSI/FAIR are:

Division Liaison
FAIR Accelerator Ralph Baer (r.baer@gsi.de)
GSI Implementation Holger Brand (h.brand@gsi.de)

PANDA Detector subsystems

The PANDA magnet, target and detector subsystems groups are expected to provide:
  • Subsystem requirements
  • Tentative layout of the user interface
  • Connection implementation

Requirements Database

Our requirements database is available here: http://nuclear.gla.ac.uk/DCS/ (its structure is described in DCSRequirementsDB). The detector subgroups should collect and enter (at least preliminary) numbers into this database by the end of 2008.

Detector liaisons

There should be a liaison person for magnet, target and for each detector subsystem. The liaison persons are expected to participate to the DCS subgroup meetings. The preliminary list is below:

Subsystem Liaison REQ DB DATA
EMC Fritz-Herbert Heinsius (heinsius@ep1.rub.de) in
RICH Ralf Kaiser (r.kaiser@physics.gla.ac.uk) in
MVD Harald Kleines (h.kleines@fz-juelich.de) in
Endcap DIRC Bjoern Seitz (b.seitz@physics.gla.ac.uk) in
Barrel DIRC Carsten Schwarz (C.Schwarz@gsi.de) in
GEM Bernd Voss (B.Voss@gsi.de) in
MUON Maria Pia Bussa (bussa@to.infn.it) n/a
TOF   n/a
Forward Spectrometer Jerzy Smyrski (jerzy.smyrski@uj.edu.pl) n/a
STT/TPC Paola Gianotti (paola.gianotti@lnf.infn.it)/ Bernhard Ketzer (bernhard.ketzer@cern.ch) n/a
Magnet Inti Lehmann (i.lehmann@physics.gla.ac.uk) in
Target Herbert Orth (h.orth@gsi.de) n/a
DAQ Wolfgang Kühn (wolfgang.kuehn@exp2.physik.uni-giessen.de) n/a

The heads of the detector groups are in charge of collecting DCS requirements (regarding physics signals, parameters, interdependencies) and liaising with the DCS group.

Detector groups are invited to present their plans/ideas regarding DCS within the subgroups session during our collaboration meetings. The heads of the detector groups are invited to volunteer.

Open topics / To Do

For the immediate future:

Other issues:

  • ML(ApMon) module for LabView device classes (equivalent to DIM's function)

Milestones

  • End of 2008 - have a complete set of DCS requirements in our Database

Idea bank

To collect general and specific ideas in a place where it's easy for everyone to review and contribute, we set up a wiki where you are invited to visit/edit: IdeaBank

Hardware

SupportedHardware is a wiki describing the proposed/tested/supported sensor/control hardware for the PANDA DCS.

Documentation

It is advisable that the members of the DCS group browse the documentation for EPICS, AFECS and MonALISA. PANDA DCS specific documentation will be linked/attached here as it is written.

Related topics

Topic attachments
I Attachment Action Size Date Who Comment
DCS-LayersDAQ-wbg-small.pngpng DCS-LayersDAQ-wbg-small.png manage 111.6 K 09 Apr 2008 - 22:30 DanProtopopescu DCS components (small)
DCS_small.pngpng DCS_small.png manage 62.3 K 06 Dec 2007 - 16:15 DanProtopopescu DCS interrelations graph (small)
KVI_March_2007_cp.pptppt KVI_March_2007_cp.ppt manage 5432.0 K 27 Sep 2007 - 14:34 DanProtopopescu Seminar on GRIDCC at KVI by Gaetano Maron, March 2007
LS12-070917_controls07.pdfpdf LS12-070917_controls07.pdf manage 158.4 K 25 Sep 2007 - 14:16 DanProtopopescu Lars Schmitt's talk, September 2007
ML-Online-Dubna.pptppt ML-Online-Dubna.ppt manage 4749.0 K 28 Sep 2007 - 12:57 DanProtopopescu Slow controls with MonALISA - Talk by DanProtopopescu in Dubna, July 2007
PZ14-070917_PeterZumbruch-EPICS_at_GSI.pptppt PZ14-070917_PeterZumbruch-EPICS_at_GSI.ppt manage 4812.0 K 25 Sep 2007 - 15:28 DanProtopopescu Peter Zumbruch's talk
Primer.pdfpdf Primer.pdf manage 201.5 K 06 Nov 2008 - 17:49 DanProtopopescu IRMIS overview
Edit | Attach | Print version | History: r97 | r43 < r42 < r41 < r40 | Backlinks | View wiki text | Edit WikiText | More topic actions...
Topic revision: r42 - 27 Nov 2008, DanProtopopescu
 
This site is powered by FoswikiCopyright © by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding PANDA Wiki? Send feedback
Imprint (in German)
Privacy Policy (in German)