Powered by Foswiki, The Free and Open Source Wiki
DCS  WebHome (compare)

Difference: WebHome (r10 vs. r9)

Detector Control System

This is the wiki page of the DCS Subgroup. This subgroup has been established during the September 2007 PANDA collaboration meeting at GSI. Many updates to this wiki are expected over the next few months. Members of the DCS group should register to this wiki and be added to the PandaControlsGroup

Organization

The DCS subgroup has been established on September 17, 2007. The present structure is listed below.

Subgroup chairperson(s)

The subgroup co-chairpersons at this time are LarsSchmitt and DanProtopopescu.

Subgroup members

The list below includes the institutes and/or persons that expressed interest in joining the DCS group. It is expected that at the December meeting more specific commitments will be made (designated manpower, responsibility for work packages etc.).

GSI Holger Brand (h.brand@gsi.de), Peter Zumbruch (p.zumbruch@gsi.de), Uwe Thiemer (u.thiemer@gsi.de), Lars Schmitt (l.schmitt@gsi.de)
Glasgow Dan Protopopescu (d.protopopescu@physics.gla.ac.uk)
Juelich  
Bucharest Mario Bragadireanu (mario@ifin.nipne.ro)
Frascati Elisabetta Pace (elisabetta.pace@lnf.infn.it)
Warsaw Zbigniew Guzik (zbig@ipj.gov.pl)

Communication

There is a forum (hosted at GSI) and there will be a mailing list.

Forum

The subgroup forum is located on the GSI server. ALERT! It is recommended that members of the DCS subgroup do subscribe to this forum.

Mailing list

panda-dcs@gsi.de will be available soon

Meetings

Subgroup meetings will be announced on the PANDA DCS meetings page.

Teleconferencing

The software to be used for teleconferencing is still to be decided. Some suggestion can be found here.

DCS framework structure

It is very likely that the PANDA DCS will be a mashup of various specialized systems integrated via a high-level framework.

GSI/FAIR Controls

The GSI/FAIR Controls group is expected to provide:

  • Framework design
  • Templates and libraries
  • Database design and service
  • Consulting

GSI/FAIR Controls liaison

The liaison person to the GSI/FAIR Controls group is Holger Brand (h.brand@gsi.de).

PANDA Detector subsystems

The PANDA magnet, target and detector subsystems groups are expected to provide:

  • Subsystem requirements
  • Tentative layout of the user interface
  • Connection implementation

Detector liaisons

There should be a liaison person for magnet, target and for each detector subsystem. The liaison persons are expected to participate to the DCS subgroup meetings. The preliminary list is below:

SubsystemSorted ascendingLiaison
Barrel DIRC Karsten Schwartz (?)
DAQ Wolfgang Kuhn (?)
EMC  
Endcap DIRC Bjoern Seitz (b.seitz@physics.gla.ac.uk)
GEM Lars Schmitt (?)
HC  
Magnet Inti Lehmann (i.lehmann@physics.gla.ac.uk)
MUON  
MVD  
RICH Ralf Kaiser (r.kaiser@physics.gla.ac.uk)
STT/TPC (?)
Target Herbert Orth (?)
TOF  

Open topics / To Do

For the immediate future two drafts are necessary:

  • A DCS requirements document
  • A preliminary scheme of devices and values to be controlled/monitored

Documentation

It is advisable that the members of the DCS group browse the documentation for EPICS and MonALISA. PANDA DCS specific documentation will be linked/attached here as it is written.

Related topics

-- DanProtopopescu - 25 Sep 2007

IAttachmentActionSizeDateWhoComment
LS12-070917_controls07.pdfpdfLS12-070917_controls07.pdfmanage 158.4 K 25 Sep 2007 - 14:16DanProtopopescu Lars Schmitt's talk, September 2007
PZ14-070917_PeterZumbruch-EPICS_at_GSI.pptpptPZ14-070917_PeterZumbruch-EPICS_at_GSI.pptmanage 4812.0 K 25 Sep 2007 - 15:28DanProtopopescu Peter Zumbruch's talk

Revision r10 - 26 Sep 2007 - 20:36 - DanProtopopescu
Revision r9 - 26 Sep 2007 - 14:35 - DanProtopopescu
This site is powered by FoswikiCopyright © by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding PANDA Wiki? Send feedback
Imprint (in German)
Privacy Policy (in German)